Thrissur Information

Thrissur or ‘Thiru-shiva-peroor’, is named after Shiva and is the ‘Cultural Capital’ of Kerala.  It has been of great religious and cultural significance for many centuries.

Vadakkunathan (Siva) Temple

This ancient shrine atop a hillock in the heart of the town is believed to be founded by legendary sage Parasurama.  It is built in Kerala style and is one of the largest temples of Kerala.  The temple has an amazing Mahalingam concealed under a huge mound of ghee, which is offered to the deity as a ritual.  Miraculously the ghee never melts or emits any smell, even in the hot climate of Thrisur. The temple is also associated with the great sage Adi Shankaracharya, who is said to have spent his last days over here.  Pooram festival (April – May) celebrated at the shrine is the main attraction of Thrissur.  The Elephant Umbrella competition during this time is spectacular.  Beautifully decorated elephants adorned with ceremonial umbrellas carry the deity on a chariot around the main temple.  Excellent fireworks are on display during the celebration.

Martha Mariam Big Church

The grand church built in 1815, is noted for its exquisite carvings.  It is a must visit site in the town.

Thrissur Tour Information

Arattupuzha (12km)

It is famous for the colourful festival of Arattupuzha Pooram held every year in the month of Meenam (March – April).  During the festival, the deities of 46 temples from the neighbourhood villages are brought at night in colourful processions on rows of caparisoned elephants to the local temple of Lord Sastha.

Cherutharuthi  (35km)

It is famous for the Kerala Kala Mandalam, established by poet Sri Vallathol Narayana Menon I 1930.  The centre imparts training in various traditional art forms like Kathakali, Mohiniyattam, Koodiyattam, Thullai etc.  Various instrumental and vocal art forms are also taught here.

Thrissur Distance Guide

Thrissur Changannassery 154 Km
Thrissur Guruvayur 25 Km
Thrissur Kaladi 55 Km
Thrissur Kalpetta 211 Km
Thrissur Kannur 219 Km
Thrissur Kasaragod 295 Km
Thrissur Kochi 74 Km
Thrissur Kodungallor 40 Km
Thrissur Kollam 222 Km
Thrissur Kottayam 136 Km
Thrissur Kovalam 298 Km
Thrissur Kozhikode 125 Km
Thrissur Malappuram 86 Km
Thrissur Munnar 151 Km
Thrissur Muvattupula 82 Km
Thrissur Painavu 117 Km
Thrissur Palakkad 61 Km
Thrissur Sabarimala 171 Km
Thrissur Shoranur 32 Km
Thrissur Sultan Bathery 236 Km
Thrissur Thalassery 189 Km
Thrissur Thiruvananthapuram 277 Km
Thrissur Alappuzha 130 Km
Thrissur Vaikam 108 Km