Nagaland Information

Nagaland is the extreme north east, just below Arunachal Pradesh.  The terrain is hilly, rugged and mountainous.  The highest peak is saramati in the Twensang district.  Which is 3840 metres above the sea level.  The average height of the peaks is between 900 and 1200 metres.  The hillsides are covered with green forests.  In fact, 20 percent of the total land area of the state is covered with wooded forest, rich in flora and fauna.  They only well known lake in Lacham.

The state of Nagaland is drained by four chief rivers of Doyang, Jhanji, Dhansiri and Dikhu.  The rivers are the tributaries of the mighty Brahmaputra river, with their sources in the mountain ranges of the state.

The Naga tribes have lived in harmony with their environment for centuries.  They have always been self sufficient, producing their own food, clothing and shelter.  Their culture and lifestyle show their deep respect for nature.


Let us see very little history of Nagaland.  During the early 19th century present day Nagal and was under the control of Myanmar.  When the British East India Company took over Assam, Nagaland became a part of British India.  After India got her independence in 1947, the area under Nagaland and Assam were combined to form a single state known as Assam. But as demand for a separate political entity from the Naga tribes intensified, the government of India decided to make Nagaland a single administrative unit.  It became union territory in 1957, and was governed directly by the centre.  However this does not satisfy the Naga tribes.  They wanted their own state.

Finally on 1st December 1963, Nagaland became the 16th state of India.

Nagaland General Information

The capital of Nagaland is Kohima.
There are 8 districts in this state.
Principal languages
The languages spoken by the people are English, Angami, Ao, Chang, Konyak, Lotha, Sangtam, Sema and Chakhesang.
State Bird
Blyth’s tragopan is this state bird.
State Animal
Mithun is this state’s animal.
State Flower
Rhododendron is this state’s flower.
The people of Nagaland are divided into several tribes.  The social structure of each and every Naga tribe is different from the other.  The Naga tribes still perform their war dances,  that are resplendent with colourful and traditional head dresses, costumer, war paint andweapons like spears.  Weaving is a traditional craft passed down the generations.  Almost every rural home has a loom.  Naga shawls have their own clan motifs and are brightly coloured.  The tribal men make decorative spears and bamboo shields.  They are excellent wood carvers.  Basket making is another craft at which the Nagas are skilled.  The traditional ornaments of Nagaland also reflect the rich cultural heritage of the people.